Michigan Driver Responsibility Fees - What are they, how much do you need to pay, and what happens when you don't pay them?
Drivers with seven or more points on their driving record, or drivers convicted of certain driving offenses, must pay a “driver responsibility fee” of at least $100. MCL 257.732a. D
Driver responsibility fees will be completely phased out for violations that occur on or after October 1, 2019. Violations after October 1, 2015, result in reduced fees.
The fees assessed are as follows:
The Michigan Vehicle Code mandates a driver responsibility fee payable to the Secretary of State, on notice of a conviction, for drivers convicted of certain offenses. This fee is in addition to any other penalties. The driver responsibility fee for drunk driving offenses are
Note that 2014 PA 250 added MCL 257.732a(11) to reduce and phase out the fees starting October 1, 2015:
(b) A fee assessed under subsection (2)(a) or (b) shall be reduced as follows:
(i) For a violation that occurs on or after October 1, 2015, 100% of the fee shall be assessed for the first year and 50% for the second year.
(ii) For a violation that occurs on or after October 1, 2016, 100% of the fee shall be assessed for the first year and no fee shall be assessed for the second year.
(iii) For a violation that occurs on or after October 1, 2018, 50% of the fee shall be assessed for the first year and no fee shall be assessed for the second year.
(iv) For a violation that occurs on or after October 1, 2019, no fee shall be assessed under subsection (2)(a) or (b).
Failure to pay the fees will result in the suspension of the offender’s license. MCL 257.732a(5). A payment plan for fees above $500 is allowed under MCL 257.732a(4).
The Secretary of State may authorize payment by installment for a period not to exceed 24 months. MCL 257.732a(4). Alternatively, the driver may engage in community service. Id. If payment is not received or an installment plan is not established after the time limit (30 days) required by the Secretary’s second notice, the Secretary must suspend driving privileges until the assessment and any other fees prescribed under the Michigan Vehicle Code are paid.
Ann Arbor Office Location
Plymouth Office Location
Representing DUI Clients in Michigan
Representing clients charged with a DUI in Ann Arbor, Canton, Brighton, Howell, Saline, Adrian, Taylor, Plymouth, Northville, Westland, Ypsilanti, Pittsfield Towsnhip, Warren, Sterling Heights, Farmington, Pontiac, Romulus, Lansing, Novi, South Lyon, Southfield, Birmingham, Bloomfield Hills, Royal Oak, Troy, Rochester, Jackson, East Lansing, Garden City, Livonia, Dearborn, Detroit, St Clair Shores, Hazel Park, Ferndale, Madison Heights, Waterford, Milford, Shelby Township Clarkston, Oak Park, Berkley, Fraser, Sterling Heights, Clinton Township and others throughout Washtenaw, Wayne, Monroe, Jackson, Genesee, Macomb, Ingham, Lenawee, Livingston and Oakland County.