Michigan driver's license points are only entered for the highest infraction. For example, if you are cited for multiple offenses of Careless Driving (3 points), Operating While Intoxicated (6 points) and Limited Access Speed 6-10 Over (1 point), you can only receive 6 points on your license.
If you accumulate 12 or more points within 2 years, this will cause a re-examination by the Michigan Secretary of State. At this hearing, you may have your license revoked, suspended or restricted along with other terms imposed on your driving ability. If your license is suspended or restricted, this decision can be appealed to the circuit court, but a license revocation cannot be appealed by your attorney.
Here are point breakdowns for common offenses, pulled directly from the secretary of state website. Your attorney will be able to give you a more in-depth breakdown of your particular offense, and the impact on your license.
Manslaughter, negligent homicide, or other felony involving use of a motor vehicle.
Operating under the influence of liquor or drugs.
Failing to stop and give identification at the scene of a crash.
Unlawful bodily alcohol content of 0.08 or more.
Refusal to take a chemical test.
Fleeing or eluding a police officer.
Operating while visibly impaired.
Under age 21 with any bodily alcohol content.
16 mph or more over the legal speed limit.
Failure to yield/show due caution for emergency vehicles.
Disobeying a traffic signal or stop sign or improper passing.
11 through 15 mph over the legal speed limit.
Failure to stop at railroad crossing.
Failure to stop for a school bus or for disobeying a school crossing guard.
10 mph or less over the legal speed limit.
Open alcohol container in vehicle.
All other moving violations of traffic laws.
Refusal of Preliminary Breath Test (PBT) by anyone under age 21.
DUI Attorney & Former Prosecutor Jonathan Paul